Privacy myths regarding Internet Browsing, as many of us think we’re taking the right precautions, when in fact we’re putting our info at risk.
Private Browsing, Incognito Window, or In-Private Mode, it’s meant to let you browse without leaving behind a local trail of history, passwords, cookies, and other assorted bits of revealing information.
However your online activity is still visible, saved, and could be shared or sold to third-parties, says Paige Hanson, chief of identity education at Norton.
Though you prevent your information from being stored, your activity is still visible to the Internet Service Provider. Also, the websites you visit may be able to view the session, too. Hence, those who are concerned about privacy could install a reputable Virtual Private Network.
By using Wi-Fi hotspots, one can use tools to hack your device. It is misconception that public Wi-Fi hotspot is safe.
Deleting files, emptying the Recycling Bin and even formatting a computer’s hard drive, USB thumbdrive or memory card can still leave your personal files buried among those 0s and 1s. Cybercriminals can still retrieve your documents, images, and other files using easily accessible “recovery” tools found online.
Hence be aware regarding hard drive or Flash drives cleaning. You can download tools like Eraser and CBL Data Shredder to erase your hard drive properly.
While Facebook gives you the option to only share info with your chosen friends, even private profiles show your name, profile picture, cover photo, user I.D., and more, to others on the network.